Maricopa Priorities

Greetings and welcome back to Fall Semester 2013.  I am looking forward to a successful start of the term with new and returning students once again on the campuses.

During the course of last year, you heard information about the District initiative titled Maricopa Priorities.  A steering committee made up of district-wide representatives worked to create a draft process under which colleges and the district office would “examine and assess all current instructional and support programs and services, to explore their origins and how they have evolved over time, to determine how they serve the community’s changing educational needs, and to evaluate whether they are positioned to meet current and future educational requirements of our communities.”  Based on the foundational work of Robert Dickeson, the prioritization process will help the district optimize what we do and how we do it.

To give an example of how this would work, allow me to use a service department at GCC, Marketing /Public Relations (College Advancement).  The series of services and work effort currently tasked as a part of their overall responsibility will be critically examined and analyzed through self-reporting based on a district-wide set of questions and rubric.  This includes press related work, advertising, social media, graphic design, web design, events, photography, search engine optimization, communications and others to ascertain if all parts of the program are meeting their goals effectively and efficiently. The department will be evaluated and measured against other similar departments, other colleges and industry standards.

The results of the Maricopa Priorities initiative include maintaining, improving and building programs and centers of excellence.   The steering committee reminds us that “institutions can no longer afford what they have become.  It is therefore vital that the mission be reexamined in some cases, revised in other cases, and reaffirmed in all cases”.

The start of this initiative begins in earnest in September with the establishment of a local steering committee.  This committee will consist of 8-10 members and co-chairs of a vice president and a faculty member.  The remainder of the committee will come from a cross-section of functional areas and additional faculty members.  I will seek input from the constituency heads as the steering committee is appointed.

In addition to the steering committee, there will be two task forces – one for instructional programs and one for support programs/services.  In each case there will be co-chairs of the task forces – one administrator and one faculty member – with the remainder of the task forces made up of a cross section of representative groups.

I will appoint the Steering Committee and two Task Forces no later than September 1, 2013 so they may begin their work.  It is envisioned that the work to bring each program and service through this analysis will take 18 months culminating with the recommendations to CEC and the Chancellor in December of 2014. No doubt there will be questions along the way and I look forward to listening, understanding and clarifying any issues that may arise.  As always, my door is open to your questions or comments.

Back to GCCaz.edu

3 thoughts on “Maricopa Priorities

  1. Rebekah Coty September 6, 2013 at 11:11 am Reply

    Hi my name is Becky Coty I am in math 120 and also math 108. I have a good grade point average and hold A-B in my classes, all but math. I have had good understanding teachers in my past math classes. I am 59 so math is time consuming. That is not bad all my classes are time consuming. I am learning disabled and have some health related issues. My background is art but I love criminology. I changed my major when you got more classes in criminal justice. That is when math came into play. I learn differently from others I am visual and slow after not having math for around 40 years. The class I am in is fast, and though I spend hours on it, if you do not have time to learn you fail! I need a learning disabled math 120 class. Is there a satelite math class I can sign up for? If not why not? I am not the only one with this problem. I am willing to learn, if you have a teacher that can teach math challenged people. So far the last teacher that understood me moved back east. Professor Bitter was on track but you lost her to another state. You need to develop a learning disabled math program. People can learn if teachers have the skills to teach them. Instead of it falling on the student, maybe you need to consider the program as a failure not the student. Not all of us are math inclined but have to have it for our field of study. Instead of throwing us to the curb and giving us high debt perhaps myself and others could be a part of a program that would put GCC up a notch as far as being desirable for hard to teach students that are in need of math. If I cannot get my math here I will have to go elsewhere as have many others. Thanks Becky Coty

  2. Glendale Community College November 4, 2013 at 10:24 am Reply

    Hi Becky, sorry we missed your comment, the spam filters seemed to have picked it up since you are new to the blog. We’ve adjusted them accordingly for next time. We reached out to our Academic Dean for an answer and here is what he had to say:

    Becky,
    We, GCC math department, miss Dr. Bitter too! You might try going to the math department website and look at the residential faculty. Many of them have a summary of how they conduct their classes, listed under teaching styles. You might find someone who has a similar style to Dr. Bitter. If you can’t, you might try going to the math chair, currently Anne Dudley 623-845-3655, and ask her about teachers in the department and who could be good for you. Many faculty work well with GCC’s disabled student resources department who will make recommended accommodations to assist you.

  3. Richard McLaughlin August 30, 2014 at 6:07 pm Reply

    Your statement: While in Illinois, I was affiliated with the International Center of Deafness and the Arts (ICODA). This school and performing arts center taught profoundly deaf and hard of hearing students the art of dance and music. To watch these children perform to beautiful music without the ability to hear had a lifetime impact on me. I urge each of you to commit to seeing this performance, have discussions with your students about perceptions, and witness the strength and love of the rich gifts each person brings to life!

    My respond: You have touch my heart when u wrote that paragraph because I was former student at GCC and I was deaf student there. Thank you for your positive statement.

    My question: What is your future or current plan with Deaf and Hard of Hearing student on this campus? You will consider to hiring deaf professor and administration on the campus of GCC to run deaf community college like Howard college in big spring Texas that on the same campus called “SouthWest Collegiate Institute for the Deaf”?

    There more information: http://www.howardcollege.edu/swcid/

    I am hope to get hear from your respond.

    Prepare for future… Today.

    Sincerely,
    Richard Allen McLaughlin Jr.
    Former student.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

